The Evil Dead (1981) has haunted me for thirty years

3 Apr

The-EVIL-DEAD

I will never forget my father allowing me to watch The Evil Dead when I was twelve years old. He warned me, but I insisted I was old enough. He popped the VHS rental into the machine and I have never been so freaked out in my life. By the time the demon girl begins laughing on her knees in the kitchen I was done and could not watch anymore. For its time, it was one of the scariest movies ever. Today, it still gives me the chills, but the make up and chasing camera does not have the same impact it once did. Director Sam Raimi did more with less and succeeded on so many levels that The Evil Dead films have all become cult classics. Bruce Campbell’s odd charisma and unique style of camp separates this movie from the other horror knock offs. He and Raimi created a low-budget masterpiece that has haunted me for thirty years.

WORD COUNT: 159

Chuck’s Grade: A

Adam’s Grade: B+

One Response to “The Evil Dead (1981) has haunted me for thirty years”

  1. vinnieh April 3, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Excellent post, I was also terrified the first time I saw it.

Leave a Reply

