He Got Game

17 Feb

He-got-game

Spike Lee’s affinity for basketball is well documented, but his film about Jesus Shuttlesworth (Ray Allen), a young man having to make one of  “the most important decision of his life” is not his best effort.   Everyone close to Jesus sees a pay check on the horizon. His father, Jake (Denzel Washington) is serving 15 years for the murder of his wife and the prison warden asks Jake to convince his son to choose the governor’s alma mater for a reduced sentence. Lee explores the darker side of people’s human nature as his “Jesus” character must resist the temptations thrown in front of him. Unfortunately, Jesus has to share too much playing time with his father. I never thought I would say that about a Denzel Washington character. Lee’s story has all the pieces for a championship caliber film, but his players tire and cannot score the winning shot at the end because he puts the ball into too many hands.

WORD COUNT: 159

Chuck’s Grade: B-

Adam’s Grade: C

4 Responses to “He Got Game”

  1. this is a test message February 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    I just like the worthwhile info you produce in the articles.I will bookmark your blogging site and take a look at once again below consistently.I’m very confident I will understand a lot of recent stuff appropriate below! Really good luck for that next!

  2. video animation February 22, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Howdy, I do think your site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog! I though you should know, I bookmarked He Got Game | Fast Forward Film Reviews at Digg so my friends will see it too.

  3. Paul March 1, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    I could not refrain from commenting. Very well written!

  4. Make money online March 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    wow! many thanks for that tremendous write-up. I really cherished it for the core. Hope you keep putting up these types of outstanding articles or blog posts

Leave a Reply

