Hesher moves in

20 Nov

I really enjoyed Hesher on many levels. Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Hesher) continues to rack up cult hits with his character choices. I sat in the theater wondering what Hesher was going to do next. It was like swinging on a pendulum. One second your laughing and having a good time, and then the next you’re cringing and thinking to yourself that this guy is “not right.” This movie spends a lot of time on the surface with Hesher’s appearance and soundtrack, but the film has a heart and it beats stronger when it is needed the most. It is a dark comedy that borders on Theatre of the Absurd, but brings audiences back to reality with the kinds of human choices and mistakes people make. For some reason, this is one of those films that remind you of two films put together. For me, I couldn’t stop thinking Hesher reminded me of Bad Santa meeting Little Miss Sunshine.

WORD COUNT: 157

Chuck’s Grade: B

Adam’s Grade: C+

