THERE WILL BE BLOOD

21 Sep

For me, Daniel Day Lewis’ portrayal of Daniel Plainview was the greatest acting performance I have ever seen in a theater. It was a cinematic experience that I will never forget. From the opening sequence where a word is not uttered for close to twenty minutes to his selling the town of Little Boston short with lies and empty promises to his final words, “I’m finished.” Everything he did was perfection. Although, his performance was brilliant, There Will Be Blood was not the best movie I had ever seen. I think Paul Thomas Anderson’ script is a great adaptation to Upton Sinclair’s novel, Oil!, but there were times when the film’s energy level slows down to a crawl. He allows audiences to find meaning in his character’s silences, but I think it works against him a couple of times when the film begins to feel long. Overall, it was easily one of the best films of 2007.

WORD COUNT: 156

Chuck’s Grade: A-

Adam’s Grade: A

